Revu 2018 Administration Guide – Revu Profiles

5. Revu Profiles

This article applies to:

  • Revu 2018

Jump to other versions:

Revu Profiles contain information about the overall layout of the Revu interface, such as toolbar positions, Tool Chest contents, and panel configurations.

Exporting Profiles

Complete instructions for managing, exporting, and importing Revu Profiles can be found in the Revu Manual, but once a Profile is created, configured, and saved, it can be exported to a central location by clicking Export in the lower-left of the Manage Profiles dialog. After this in can be deployed as described in the Revu Deployment Guide.

You can also import a profile into a Revu installation by navigating to its location and double-clicking the .bpx file. Alternatively, you can also import it by clicking Import in the lower-left of the Manage Profiles dialog, navigating to its location, selecting it, and clicking Open.

Include Dependencies

Clicking this checkbox before clicking Export embeds the following items into the Profile:

  • Tool Sets
  • Custom Columns
  • Custom Statuses
  • Bookmark Structures (Revu eXtreme only)

Using Shared Profiles on a Network Location

If you do not want to import a profile into Revu, you can “link” to its location on a centralized network location which is accessible to all users who have adequate folder permissions. To do this:

  • Open the Manage Profiles dialog and click the Browse button located to the right of the folder path displayed in the Location box.
  • Navigate to the folder, click it, and then click Select Folder.
Shared Profiles are read-only. Any changes made by a user such as, turning a toolbar on or off are lost when Revu is closed.

Read-Only Profiles

By default, Revu remembers the last known state or layout the user interface when the application is closed. Changes, such as enabling a tool bar or hiding the Properties tab, are saved to the active Profile. If your organization uses shared Profiles as described above, you will want to prevent this because it overwrites the Profile, which can adversely affect other people who are using it. To do this:

  • Navigate to the network location of the Profile.
  • Right-click on it and select Properties in the pop-up menu.
  • Click the Read Only checkbox, and then click Apply and OK.

Bluebeam, Revu, and Bluebeam Studio are trademarks or registered trademarks of Bluebeam, Inc. Microsoft, SharePoint, and Windows are either registered trademarks or trademarks of Microsoft Corporation in the United States and/or other countries.

AutoCAD is a registered trademark of Autodesk in the United States and/or other countries.

© 2018 Bluebeam, Inc. All Rights Reserved.

All other trademarks or registered trademarks are the property of their respective owners.

 

Related Articles