Multiple “Save As” dialogs display when creating PDF from plugins or Bluebeam PDF printer

Applies to:

  • Revu 20
  • Revu 2019
  • Revu 2018

Jump to other versions:

Problem

Printing to the Bluebeam PDF printer or using one of the plugins displays in multiple Save As dialogs displaying for old print jobs.

Cause

The temporary files created by printer and plugins aren’t being removed after PDFs are created. These temporary files should be automatically removed. One reason why these files might remain is that the program was started using “Run as administrator” and then printed with the Bluebeam PDF printer. Remove the files by restarting the Port Monitor (bbprint.exe).

Solution

  1. Go to Revu > Administrator in Revu.
  2. Click the Printer tab.
  3. Click the Clear Print Jobs button.
  4. In the Port Monitor section, click Stop and then Restart.
  5. Click Cancel if the Save As dialog displays for any old PDFs.
  6. Click OK.

If the prompts for the old PDFs continue after restarting the Port Monitor, follow the steps below to manually remove the temporary files:

  1. Open the Bluebeam Administrator.
  2. Press Windows + R.
  3. In the Run dialog, type %programdata%\Bluebeam Software\Print Jobs. The Print Jobs folder will open.

    The ProgramData folder is hidden by default. Please do the following if you don’t see it:

    In Windows 8.1 and 10 – Click the View tab in Windows Explorer and fill in the Hidden items checkbox. When the Folder Options dialog opens, click the View tab and then enable the “Show Hidden Files, Folders and Drives” option.

    In Windows 7.1 – Click Organize > Folder and Search Options. When the Folder Options dialog opens, click the View tab and then enable the “Show Hidden Files, Folders and Drives” option.

  4. Delete any .mbx and .psb files in the folder.
  5. Open the folder C:\ProgramData\Bluebeam Software\Print Jobs\<your user name>
  6. Delete any .mbx and .psb files in the folder.
  7. Return to the Bluebeam Administrator and click the Printer tab.
  8. Click the Stop and Restart buttons.

A Save As dialog should not display and the Save As dialogs for the old PDFs should not display again.

Other versions of this article

Revu 2017 and older

Summary

“Save As” dialogs for old PDF files display when creating a PDF using the plugins or Bluebeam PDF printer.

Relevant Products

Bluebeam Revu


Problem

Printing to the Bluebeam PDF printer or using one of the plugins results in multiple Save As dialogs displaying for old print jobs.

Solution

The temporary files created by printer and plugins are not being removed after PDFs are created. These temporary files should be automatically removed. One cause of the files remaining is when a program is started using “Run as administrator” and then you then print to the Bluebeam PDF printer.Restarting the Port Monitor (bbprint.exe) should remove the files.

  1. Select Start and type Bluebeam Administrator.
  2. Right-click on Bluebeam Administrator and select Run as Administrator.
  3. Click the Logging tab and click the Clear Temp button.
  4. Click the the Printer tab.
  5. In the Port Monitor section, click the Stop and then Restart buttons.
  6. Click Cancel if the Save As dialog displays for any old PDF files.
  7. Click OK.

If the prompts for the old PDFs continue after restarting the Port Monitor, follow the steps below to manually remove the temporary files:

  1. Open the Bluebeam Administrator.
  2. Click the Logging tab and click the Explore button.

    The %TEMP%\Bluebeam Software folder will open.

  3. Delete any .mbx and .psb files in the folder.
  4. Open the folder C:\ProgramData\Bluebeam Software\Print Jobs\<your user name>

    Note: The ProgramData folder is normally hidden by default. Please do the following if you don’t see it:

    In Windows 8.1 and 10 – Click the View tab in Windows Explorer and fill in the Hidden items checkbox. When the Folder Options dialog opens, click the View tab and then enable the “Show Hidden Files, Folders and Drives” option.

    In Windows 7.1 and Vista – Click Organize > Folder and Search Options. When the Folder Options dialog opens, click the View tab and then enable the “Show Hidden Files, Folders and Drives” option.

  5. Delete any .mbx and .psb files in the folder.
  6. Return to the Bluebeam Administrator and click the Printer tab.
  7. Click the Stop and Restart buttons.

A Save As dialog should not display and the Save As dialogs for the old PDFs should not display again.

Printing to the Bluebeam PDF printer or using one of the plugins displays in multiple Save As dialogs displaying for old print jobs.

Related Articles