- Revu 20
- Revu 2019
- Revu 2018
Vu is now View Mode
Vu has been deprecated as a standalone product. Its functionality is now available in Revu using View mode.
Instead of downloading Vu, download Revu and click Use as Trial when prompted to register your software. This will give you access to all of Revu’s features free for 30 days. Once the trial ends, you can continue using Revu, but only in View mode.
What View mode and Markup mode do
View mode allows you to use Measurement tools, join Studio Sessions and Projects, and view documents. Other features available in View mode include MultiView, MultiView Extended, Presentation mode and Profiles. Open License users will find View mode particularly helpful (see below).
While in a Studio Session, View mode provides access to many of the markup and tool set features normally reserved for licensed users of Revu, including measurements, comments and markups.
View mode also allows you to check out Studio Project files so that you can fill out forms and sign documents. As with Sessions, adding files is not allowed.
Markup mode allows full access to the Revu features available with your edition. You can switch between the two modes from the Revu menu.
The benefits of View mode
View mode is mainly intended for users who haven’t registered Revu, or have an Open License. If you’re not one of these people, you’ll only need Markup mode.
But if you’re one of these people, View mode has two main benefits:
- Unregistered users – If you decide not to purchase a license after installing a Revu trial, you can continue using Revu in View mode for free.
- Open License users – View mode gives you access to Revu’s basic functionality (see above) without occupying a seat in your license pool. If you’re using Markup mode (and thus occupying a seat), switching to View mode will make your seat available to a colleague.
If all Open License seats are occupied when you open Revu, Revu will automatically open in View mode.
Disabled functionality in View Mode
The following actions are disabled in View mode, regardless of your permissions:
- Creating a new PDF
- Adding files to a Session
- Saving copies of Session files
- Adding markups to a PDF outside of a Session
If you’re not working in a Session, most tools will be disabled and appear grayed out. Also, certain menus won’t be available (e.g. the Document menu).