Deleting a Tool Set is disabled

Applies to:

  • Revu 20
  • Revu 2019
  • Revu 2018

Jump to other versions:

Problem

You’re unable to delete a Tool Set because the Delete button is grayed out in the Manage Tool Sets window.

Cause

When a tool set is configured to be visible in all Profiles, a dependency or relationship is established between the tool set and each Profile. Because of this, the Delete button is grayed out to prevent you from accidentally removing a tool set that’s used in another Profile.

All newly created tool sets are configured to be visible in all Profiles.

Solution

The tool set can be deleted once you’ve cleared the Show in All Profiles check box in the Modify Tool Sets dialog:

  1. Open the Tool Chest panel (Alt+X) and click the Tool Chest drop-down at the top of the panel.
  2. Click Manage Tool Sets.
  3. When the Manage Tool Sets window opens, click the name of the tool set you want to delete.
  4. Click the Modify button.
  5. In the Modify Tool Set window, clear the Show in All Profiles check box and click OK.
    This will take you back to the Manage Tool Sets window.
  6. In the Manage Tool Sets window, select the tool set and click the Delete button to remove it.
Deleting a tool set removes it from Revu, but doesn’t delete the corresponding .btx file from it’s saved location on your PC.

More information

Manage tool sets – Explains how to add, import, and edit tool sets.

Other versions of this article

Revu 2017 and older

Problem

You’re unable to delete a Tool Set because the Delete button is grayed out in the Manage Tool Sets window.

Why is this Happening?

When a tool set is configured to be visible in all Profiles, a dependency or relationship is established between the tool set and each Profile. Because of this, the Delete button is grayed out to prevent you from accidentally removing a tool set that’s used in another Profile.

All newly created tool sets are configured to be visible in all Profiles.

Solution

The tool set can be deleted once you’ve followed the steps listed below for clearing the Show in All Profiles check box in the Modify Tool Sets dialog:

    1. Click the Manage Tool Sets button at the top of the Tool Chest tab.
    2. When the Manage Tool Sets window opens, click the name of the tool set you want to delete.
    3. Click the Modify button.
    4. In the Modify Tool Set window, clear the Show in All Profiles check box and click OK. This will take you back to the Manage Tool Sets window.
    5. In the Manage Tool Sets window, click the Delete button to remove the tool set.
Deleting a tool set removes it from Revu, but doesn’t delete the corresponding .btx file from the folder.

Related Articles