Setting Studio Project Folder Permissions in Revu

Summary

Best practices for setting Studio Project Folder Permissions in Revu 2015 and above.

Relevant Products

Bluebeam Revu 2015 and above


This article provides an overview of the folder permissions functionality for Studio Projects in Revu 2015 and above. You can find more in-depth information in the Revu Help Guide under Defining Access and Permissions in Studio Projects.

Set Up Attendees’ Studio Accounts

Before you can set Studio permissions, each attendee must register for their own Bluebeam Studio account. Attendees that don’t already have an account can find instructions for creating one in the following FAQ articles:

How Do I Create a Bluebeam Studio Account in Revu or Vu?

How Do I Create a Bluebeam Studio Account in Revu or Vu iPad?

Get To Know the Project Permissions Settings

If you’re new to hosting Studio Projects, this is an overview of the permission settings you’ll be able to access after you’ve started a Project, added your files and invited users.

Once you’ve completed those tasks, open the Project Settings dialog box by clicking Settings in the Studio tab. You’ll find the following tabs:

General

This tab displays general information about the Project, such as the Project Name (which you can edit), the Project ID, the number of files and folders, and overall Project Size. This is also where you can Manage Notifications and Alerts for various activities within the project, as well as the Shared Links for documents.

User Access

The User Access tab is where you can add individual users and groups of users, which you can either allow or deny access to in the Studio Project.

If Restrict Users is active, a user must be added to the list with their Access set to “Allow” in order to access the Project. On the other hand, if it’s not enabled, the Project will be open to all users, with the exception of those on the list whose Access is set to “Deny.”

Adding a user or group of users to the User Access tab is a separate process from inviting users to the Project.

Permissions Tab

This is where you control which administrative tasks attendees are allowed to perform within the Project. By default, every new Project contains a Group called “Everyone” in the User/Groups list to control the activities of all Studio users that are allowed into the Project, based on the settings in the User Access tab. However, you can also create additional Groups.

This is useful when, for example, a Host wants to have someone assist them with managing the project. In this case, they can add the user, select them, and then choose a Permission State (Allow or Deny) from the dropdown menu for each of the Applied Permissions.

Allowing a user or Group to have Full Control grants them administrative privileges within the project. This means they’ll have complete control over the User Access, Permissions, and Folder Permissions tabs, along with the ability to delete the Project. However, because the Host owns the Project and all Groups they’ve created, Administrators cannot block or remove the Host from the Project, or edit their Groups.

Folder Permissions

The newly implemented Folder Permissions tab is where you can define user and Group permissions for all folders and subfolders in a Studio Project.

Just like the Permissions tab, every new Project contains a Group called “Everyone” in the User/Groups list to control the folder permissions of all Studio users.

The steps for adding users and Groups, and defining their respective Permission Sets, works the same way as it does in the Permissions tab: you add each user and/or Group, select them, and then choose a Permission State from the dropdown menu for each folder in the Applied Permissions that you want to change.

The available Folder Permission States are listed below, but you can also find more information about them here:

  • Inherit from Parent (default)
  • Hidden
  • Read
  • Read/Write
  • Read/Write/Delete
These Permission States don’t apply to the Host or Project Administrators.

Permission Hierarchies

When setting permissions, remember that Bluebeam Studio relies on Permissions Hierarchies that establish the relationship between Permission Sets and the Permission States assigned to users and Groups:

  • Permissions granted to the “Everyone” Group are the most restrictive, as they’re set to “Deny” for all Applied Permissions.
  • Individual User permissions take precedence over Group permissions.
  • If a user is a member of two different Groups with conflicting Permission Sets, their access and rights will be governed by the more restrictive of the two.


More Information


Revu Windows Studio Licensing and Registration
Revu Mac Studio Prime Training Videos
Revu iPad Studio Enterprise Updates and Installation
Revu Enterprise Installation    

Related Articles