What Can I Do With Bluebeam Studio Sessions? (2018)

Summary

Bluebeam® Revu® Studio Sessions are an easy way to create a real-time, online collaboration environment for you and your project teams. Simply upload your PDF files to a Studio Session from within Revu, invite attendees to join, and everyone can add markups to the same document for as long as the Session is active. This article will point out some features in Sessions that you may find useful.

Related Products

Bluebeam® Revu® 2018


Real-Time Functionality

Although you need to have a licensed copy of  Revu in order to host a Session, your attendees don’t necessarily have to, as they can also use a free trial of Revu to attend a Studio Session.

Hosting and attending a Session requires a Studio account.

Studio Sessions allow multiple attendees to access a PDF and add markups at the same time, with all changes being immediately available to everyone. This means you don’t have to wait for an email with a reply or new version of the PDF to get the information you need. Just log into the Session and you’ll always see the current version of the file.

The real-time capabilities also let you follow another attendee, as they zoom, pan and markup up the PDF.

To follow another attendee, hover over the attendee’s name in the Session panel and click Follow Attendee . Your screen will automatically update to match theirs. This lets you work through an issue with a colleague without the back-and-forth of exchanging emails or files.

Access Control

Different levels of permissions can be defined in a Studio Session. You can restrict access to only the people that you invite, as well as restrict attendees’ abilities to save or print documents.

Your individual markups are also secure. Everyone can add new markups and edit the markups that they create, but no one else can change your markup. This gives you total control over your documents and markups. Attendees can reply to the markup, but cannot change it. To reply, just right-click on the markup, click Reply and start typing. 

Session Record and Reporting

While you’re in a Session, you can find a Record containing a complete history of all markup activity and chats in the lower part of the Studio panel. All of the information is hyperlinked, so you can click on a chat or markup in the list and jump to the section of the PDF that the user was viewing when their chat or markup was added.

At the conclusion of a Studio Session, you can create a report in the form of a single PDF package containing all the documents and markups, along with a full history of the session record. To create your Session Report, click the Report  button in the Studio panel.

Closing a Session

Once you and your colleagues have finished working in the Session you can close it by clicking Finish . Once you do this, the files will no longer be available in Studio.

Related Articles