What can I do with Studio Sessions that I may not already know? | Revu 2017 & below

Bluebeam Studio is a different way of distributing and collaborating with with others on your PDF documents.

Those of you who’ve tried Studio Sessions have probably found it’s an easy way to create a real-time, online collaboration environment for you and your project teams. You simply upload your PDF files to a Studio Session from within Revu, invite attendees to join, and everyone can add markups to the same document for as long as the Session is active. Pretty simple.

For most organizations, document-based collaboration like this is a more cost-effective alternative to emailing the PDF and releasing it into the wild.

Although you need to have a licensed copy of Bluebeam Revu in order to host a Session, your attendees don’t necessarily have to, as they can also use our free PDF viewer, Bluebeam Vu to attend the Session.

Note: Hosting and attending a Session requires a Bluebeam Studio account.

In this article I’m going to point out some other features in Sessions that you may also find useful.

Real-Time Functionality

Studio Sessions let multiple attendees to access a PDF and add markups at the same time, with all changes being immediately available to everyone. This means you don’t have to wait for an email with a reply or new version of the PDF to get the information you need. Just log into the Session and you’ll always see the current version of the file.

The real-time capabilities also let you “follow” another Attendee, as they zoom, pan and markup up the PDF. To do this just hover over the attendee’s name and click Follow Attendee studio-follow and your screen will automatically update. This lets you work through an issue with a colleague without the back-and-forth of exchanging email messages or files.

Access Control

Different levels of permissions can be defined in a Studio Session. You can restrict access to only the people that you invite. If you want, you can also restrict the ability for anyone else to save or print documents.

Your individual markups are also secure. Everyone can add new markups and edit the markups that they create, but no one else can change your markup. They can reply to the markup, but cannot change it. To reply, just right-click on the markup, click Reply and start typing. This allows you to have total control over your documents and markups.

Session Record and Reporting

While you’re in a Session, you can find a Record containing a complete history of all markup activity and chats, in the lower part of the Studio tab. All of the information is fully hyperlinked, so you can click on a chat or markup in the list and jump to the section of the PDF that was open when that chat or markup was added.

At the conclusion of a Studio Session you can create a report in the form of a single PDF package containing all the documents and markups, along with a full history of the session “Record”.

To create your Session Report, click the Report summary button in the Studio tab.

Closing a Session

Once you and your colleagues have finished working in the Session you can close it by clicking Finish studio-session-finalize. Once you done this, the files will no longer available in Studio.

 

Click these links for further information about collaboration using Bluebeam Studio Sessions and Projects, Studio Prime and Studio Enterprise.

Tutorial videos are available for Studio Sessions , Studio Projects and recent Studio Enhancements .

Related Articles