Profile Creation for Bluebeam Partners

This article applies to:

  • All versions of Revu

A Revu Profile lets you easily customize and access your favorite display settings, Tool sets in the Tool Chest, Custom Statuses and Custom Columns. A Profile doesn’t contain the info stored in the UserPreferences.xml, Stamps or Templates.

This article is intended for Bluebeam resellers with the purpose of providing background on the Profile creation process, as well as tips to avoid compatibility issues when attempting to carry over a Profile across Revu versions. If you’re new to Profiles in Revu, see Introduction to Profiles.

Before creating a new Profile

If you want to create a new Profile for the latest version of Revu, you should be using the same version as the Profile. For example, if you intend to create a Revu 20 Profile, you should create the Profile in Revu 20 and ensure that all updates are current. Visit our Download Center to download the latest version of Revu:

To install Revu 2019 and below, go to the Download Archive.

To ensure that no other Profile settings are carried over to your new Profile (which may cause compatibility issues when migrating between Revu versions), it’s best to restore Revu to its default settings. 

You can reset Revu to its default settings by opening Revu and going to Revu > Preferences > Admin > Reset. For a walkthrough of this process, see Backing up, resetting & restoring your Revu preferences, tool sets & Profiles. 

Working in Revu

  • Work on one Profile at a time: When creating a new Profile it’s important to keep the environment as organized as possible. Importing another Profile while you work on a new Profile can lead to some of the cross-contamination issues described below.
  • Save your work:  Remember to save your current work by going to Revu > Profiles > Save Profile. Changes made to a Profile are not automatically saved. It’s also a good idea to regularly save and export your Profile by date, this way you can keep track of your work and restore previous iterations if need be.

Profile Creation and Validation

Naming your Profile and Tool Chests

It’s important to give your Profiles and Tool Chests unique names to avoid clashes and confusion with earlier revisions already present in Revu. 

You should give your Profile a name that indicates the current version of that Profile. Using the current year or an ascending version indicator (version-1.0, version-2.0) will help you keep track of your Profiles. This’ll save you time and effort when creating a new version of that Profile for future Revu releases. 

Simply renaming the Profile .bpx filename will not alter the Profile name in the Revu interface.

You’ll also want to give your Tool Chests and tool sets unique names based on the version of the Profile you’re creating. If a new version of a Profile is distributed to a user with an older instance of that Profile, and the tool set’s and Tool Chest’s names haven’t changed, the user will be prompted to overwrite their current tool sets with the versions contained in the new Profile.

This can become problematic, since whether the user chooses to overwrite their current tool sets or not, it won’t be possible to tell which version of tool sets they’re using when troubleshooting. This is another reason it’s important to assign unique names for each iteration of your Profile and the Tool Chests and tool sets contained within. 

Tool chest 

When creating Tool Chests, be aware that all image elements retain their original file size, in turn increasing the overall file size of the Tool Chest. It’s advisable to use vectorized content when creating symbols and tools in the Tool Chest. Vectorized content requires less space and is of higher quality, allowing the content to be scaled without image deterioration.

Custom Columns 

Custom Columns can be saved to a Profile from the Manage Columns menu. Navigate to the Manage Columns menu by going to Markups List > Columns > Manage Columns.

Custom Columns can also be imported and exported in XML format from the Manage Columns menu. Remember to use unique names and values when importing Custom Columns.  

To avoid possible duplicate columns, you can edit the XML you want to import into Revu and omit any Custom Columns already present in Revu or pre-existing within other Custom Column XMLs.

To learn more about Custom Columns, see Managing and Creating Columns in the Markups List.

Exporting the Profile

A Revu Profile (.bpx) is stored in XML format and can be read in a normal text editor. Accessing the XML data is helpful when comparing, validating, or even editing a Profile directly. 

You can also create a unique Profile name, as mentioned above, by accessing the XML data and editing the name of the Profile stored under the “Name” tag:

<?xml version="1.0" encoding="utf-8"?>
<RevuProfile Version="1" Name="Revu Avancerad">
  <Record Key="Bookmarks">
    <TemplatePercent>0.25</TemplatePercent>
    <TemplateCollapsed>False</TemplateCollapsed>
  </Record>

When you’re ready to export your Profile, click the Export button under the Manage Profiles menu. Remember to check Include dependencies if you want to attach any Tool Chests/Sets you created for your Profile.

It’s also a good idea to export a zip file to keep as the source of your Profile. Once the Profile is exported, you’ll need to validate and choose a method for distributing the Profile. 

Validating your Profile

Before distribution, it’s important to validate your Profile. Follow the steps below to ensure your Profile is functioning as expected:

  1. Reset Revu to its default settings.
  2. Import the new Profile into Revu. 
  3. Create a new PDF within Revu. 
  4. Place markups on the PDF and test your statuses and/or columns.
  5. On a secure PDF, test the Batch Link function.
  6. Upload a clean PDF with custom statuses applied to a Studio Session. Check that only your desired statuses have been applied throughout the document. 
  7. Create a new PDF and test each tool in your Tool Chest to ensure proper functionality. 

After validating your Profile, you can safely distribute your Profile.

Distributing a Profile via Local storage

The default method for distributing a Profile is via a user’s local storage. The Revu Profile is sent in .bpx format, which automatically imports into Revu when opened. The Profile is copied into the users AppData folder (AppData\Roaming\Bluebeam Software\Revu\version number), where the Profile tools are unpacked and stored. Revu will then access this folder on launch to load any Profiles and Tool Chests stored in this location. 

Distributing a Profile via Network storage

Profiles can also be loaded from a network location.

Please note that Shared Profiles are read-only. Any changes made by a user (such as turning toolbars on or off) are lost when Revu is closed.

For more information, see Using Shared Profiles on a Network Location.

 

This article is intended for Bluebeam resellers with the purpose of providing background on the Profile creation process, as well as tips to avoid compatibility issues when attempting to carry over a Profile across Revu versions. A Revu Profile lets you easily customize and access your favorite display settings, Tool sets in the Tool Chest, Custom Statuses and Custom Columns.

Related Articles