Using an older version of Revu?
With a Bluebeam subscription plan, you get access to Revu 21, Bluebeam Cloud, and our flagship collaboration solution, Studio. Here, we’ll answer some of the most frequently asked questions about Studio. If you have more general questions about our latest subscription-based Bluebeam Solutions, please see our Bluebeam Subscription FAQ.
To learn more about our new web/mobile suite of solutions, Bluebeam Cloud, and how it compares to Studio, check out the Studio and Bluebeam Cloud Comparison Guide.
Do I need a Bluebeam ID (BBID) to join a Studio Session or Project?
To access Revu 21 and Studio, you must have a Bluebeam ID (BBID) and log into your account. If you haven’t created a BBID yet, click here to learn how.
What do I need to start a Studio Session or Project?
- A Core or Complete subscription plan or active 30-day trial.
If you’re a Basics subscriber, you can still collaborate in Studio but can’t create new Sessions or Projects. You must be invited and join via email.
- A valid email address to create your BBID if you haven’t already.
- A broadband internet connection.
As the host/owner, you can create Sessions or Projects, add documents, invite attendees, and define security and permissions (such as attendees’ ability to save or print PDF files). Hosts can also generate a report of activity in the Record or finish a Session.
If you’re using Revu for iPad, click here for more resources.
What do I need to join a Studio Session or Project?
- An active Bluebeam subscription plan (Basics, Core, or Complete).
- If you don’t have an active Bluebeam Plan, you can still join a Studio Session/Project with Read-only access.
View Mode in Revu 20 & below is now known as Read-only in Revu 21.
- A valid email address to create your BBID if you haven’t already.
- A broadband internet connection to access the Studio server.
Depending on your company’s network policies, you may need to open ports in your firewall or proxy server if you’re unable to connect to the Studio server.You may also work in Studio offline but must reauthenticate your account by logging in after 14 consecutive days of offline use. For more information, visit this article.
What are the technical differences between Studio Sessions and Projects?
|How many attendees can join?||500||Unlimited|
|How many files can we upload?||5,000||Unlimited|
|What files does it support?||Any file format|
|How big can the files be?||1 GB each||Unlimited*|
|How big can the markups be?||10 MB each||Unlimited|
|How much space can we use?||Unlimited||Unlimited*|
|Can attendee access rights be managed?||Yes||Yes|
|Can previous file revisions be viewed and restored?||No||Yes|
|Can we receive notifications about file and user activity?||Yes||Yes|
|Can we send and receive markup alerts?||Yes||No|
|Do all attendees need a license of Revu?||No||No|
How do I add and remove documents from an active Session or Project?
How long does a Studio Session or Project remain active on the server?
If Sessions aren’t finished by the host (or an attendee with full control permissions), the following will happen:
- After 80 days of inactivity, the host will be notified via their BBID email that the Session will be archived in 10 days.
If the email doesn’t arrive in your inbox, please check your spam or junk folder and make sure that firstname.lastname@example.org is on the approved list of senders.
- After 90 days, the Session will be archived.
- After 170 days, the host will be notified via their BBID email that the Session will be deleted in 10 days.
- After 180 days, the Session will be permanently deleted. It can’t be recovered at this point.
For Studio Projects:
- Studio Projects are never marked for archival or deletion and can only be deleted by the Project owner or a user with full control permissions.
You must have an active Core or Complete subscription plan to be a Project owner.
- If a Studio Project is deleted by the Project owner, it remains recoverable for up to 120 days. After 120 days, the Project is permanently deleted from the server. If you need to recover a deleted Studio Project, please contact us within the 120-day period to ensure the Project is recoverable.
When do users receive Session Expiration notifications?
If you create a Studio Session with an expiration date, expiration notices are sent out at the following intervals leading up to the expiration date:
- 7 days before
- 2 days before
- 24 hours before
A Session Ended email is sent when the Session finally expires, and a Session Renewed notice will be received if it’s reactivated.
What does the Email Notifications check box do?
When creating a new Session in Studio, you’ll see a check box for Email Notifications under Options in the Start Studio Session dialog. When email notifications are enabled, the host will receive a daily summary of Session activity, including alerts when the host is inactive.
In Studio Projects, you can manage notifications and alerts by right-clicking the Studio Project in the Studio panel, and selecting Manage Notifications from the context menu.
What does it mean to finish a Session?
When a host finishes a Session, the Session ends for all attendees, and the host can download Session documents from the Studio server. However, archived copies of the files are retained for 120 days before they’re permanently deleted.
The Finish Session dialog allows the host to create the Session Report and select how to save or discard the documents.
What is studio.bluebeam.com?
This is the Studio portal where you can:
- Manage your profile
- Change your Studio password or account email address
If you’re a Session host, you’ll have the following additional options to:
- View a list of Studio Sessions you have created
- View a list of attendees for each Session
- View a list of documents within each Session
- Recover deleted documents
- Reassign ownership of a Session
Why can’t I log into Studio?
You may not have validated your BBID account. You won’t be able to log into Studio if your email address has not been validated within one week of creating your account.
Our company’s network policies prohibit access to external services like Studio. How do I block our users from accessing it?
You can close the ports in your firewall or proxy server that are required for Studio connections.
The hosts and port numbers are:
I have questions about Studio performance in my region as well as data protection laws (GDPR). Does Bluebeam provide regional servers?
Bluebeam currently provides Studio servers in the following regions outside the U.S.:
To see instructions for connecting to each server and answers to other common questions about Studio regions, please see this article.
- Setting Studio Project Permissions: Learn how to set up complex Permission structures for Project attendees.
- Studio Workflow Videos: Learn how to use Studio with our free tutorials.
- Studio (Revu Help): Read in-depth information about the Studio interface.
- Revu for iPad: Check out our iPad support page, which includes FAQs and tutorials covering topics such as starting a Studio Session, attending Sessions, working in Projects, and more.
- Revu for iPad Help Guide: See our comprehensive help guide about Revu for iPad features.
- Vu for iPad Help Guide: Learn all about Vu for iPad features.